Royal Rumble Recap: Batista Wins The Rumble, Randy Orton Retains And More

lesnarPre-show match: The New Age Outlaws def. the Brotherhood to become the new WWE Tag Team Champions (Billy Gunn pinned Cody Rhodes)

Bray Wyatt def. Daniel Bryan

Brock Lesnar def. Big Show

  • Pre-match: Lesnar attacked Big Show with a copious amount of chair shots, thrown in the ring by Paul Heyman, before referee Mike Chioda was able to officially start the match.
  • Post-match: Lesnar continued his assault with the chair, hitting every part of Show’s body. Chioda tried to stop Lesnar, but was pushed aside. For those wondering, Lesnar went through three chairs and the over/under on chair shots was 29.5.

Randy Orton def. John Cena to retain the WWE Heavyweight Championship

  • Highlights: referee Charles Robinson was knocked out in the midst of an Attitude Adjustment attempt by Cena, which Orton escaped. Orton tapped out to Cena’s STF, but Robinson was still unconscious. Both men kicked out to the other using their finisher (Cena hit a RKO, Orton converted on an AA).
  • Finish: The Wyatt’s music hits, they appear on the apron, Cena turned his attention to them and Orton caught him with an emphatic RKO.
  • Post-match:  the Wyatt Family continue their beat down of Cena.

Batista wins the 2014 Royal Rumble

Order of Entry

1. CM Punk (eliminated by Kane [illegally])

2. Seth Rollins (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

3. Damien Sandow (eliminated by CM Punk)

4. Cody Rhodes (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

5. Director of Operations, Kane (eliminated by CM Punk)

6. NXT star, Alexander Rusev (eliminated by a gang of four superstars)

7. Jack Swagger (eliminated by Kevin Nash

8. Kofi Kingston (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

9. Jimmy Uso (eliminated by Dean Ambrose)

10. Goldust  (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

11. Dean Ambrose (eliminated by Roman Reings)

12. Dolph Ziggler (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

13. R-Truth (eliminated by Dean Ambrose)

14. Kevin Nash!!!  (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

15. Roman Reigns (eliminated by Batista)

16. The Great Khali (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

17. Sheamus (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

18. The Miz (eliminated by Luke Harper)

19. Fandango (eliminated by El Torito)

20. El Torito (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

21. Antonio Cesaro (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

22. Luke Harper (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

23. Jey Uso (eliminated by Luke Harper)

24. JBL!!!!! (eliminated by Roman Reigns)

25. Erick Rowan (eliminated by Batista)

26. Ryback (eliminated by Batista)

27. Alberto Del Rio (eliminated by Batista)

28. Batista

29. Big E Langston (eliminated by Sheamus)

30. Rey Mysterio (eliminated by Seth Rollines)

Final four: CM Punk, Roman Reigns, Sheamus, Batista

Final two: Roman Reigns vs. Batista

*Roman Reigns set a new record for most eliminations in a single Royal Rumble with 12, breaking   Kane’s previous record of 11.

*Batista won the second Royal Rumble match of his career (2005).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.